Season

season 41, 2022-2023

Rent

 music, lyrics, and book by Jonathan Larson

RENT is, at its core, a story about community and impact, and this production hopes to center individual identity as it pertains to characters’ relationships both with each other and with the city they live and create in. Paying special attention to the complex web of histories and relationships between characters, this production imagines the world of Larson’s rock opera as one of competing artistic voyeurism and documentary truth, of ‘selling out’ and genuine interest, and of loneliness and belonging. With a rock score and an ensemble cast, RENT is as much a celebration of life as it is an exploration of political and social reality.

Directed by Olivia Martin (COL ’23)

Produced by Antoinette Kersaint (COL ’25)

Stage Managed by Alex Wang (COL ’25)

Technical Direction by Kennedy Burroughs (COL ’23)

Music Direction by Owen Posnett (COL ’24) and Jaron Berman (COL ’23)

Thursday, November 10, 2022 at 8pm

Friday, November 11, 2022 at 8pm

Saturday, November 12, 2022 at 8pm

Sunday, November 13, 2022 at 5pm

Thursday, November 17, 2022 at 9pm

Friday, November 18, 2022 at 8pm

Saturday, November 19, 2022 at 9pm

*all times are EST

Square Pegs

Winter 2022-23

This small-scale production will provide students with a low time commitment, fun way to get involved with theater at Georgetown. The focus here will remain on community building and learning, which is perfect for those who are looking to get their feet wet with theater at Georgetown, and also returning members who are looking for a change of pace from our larger scale mainstage productions. This will be a low tech process, meaning more attention and energy can be dedicated to character work and the actors in the space.

Directed by TBD

Produced by TBD

Thursday, January 26, 2023 at 8pm

Friday, January 27, 2023 at 8pm

Saturday, January 28, 2023 at 8pm

*all times are EST

Last Summer at Bluefish Cove

by Jane Chambers

A group of women gather annually at an isolated seaside town in Long Island. Their lesbian enclave is disrupted when a straight woman, recently separated from her husband, stumbles unaware into their resort and falls for the rakish protagonist. 

Directed by Hiruni Herat (COL ’23)

Produced by Lily Schytle (COL ’24)

Stage Managed by Gabriella Turrinelli (SFS ’23)

Technical Direction by Abby Hames (COL ’24)

Wednesday, April 19, 2023 at 8pm

Thursday, April 20, 2023 at 8pm

Friday, April 21, 2023 at 8pm

Saturday, April 22, 2023 at 2pm

Saturday, April 22, 2023 at 8pm

*all times are EST